International General Certificate of Secondary Education

(IGCSE) International General Certificate of Secondary Education

It is an internationally recognized qualification for students typically taken at the end of their secondary education, usually around the age of 16. IGCSE is offered by the University of Cambridge International Examinations (CIE) and is designed to provide a broad and balanced curriculum for students worldwide.

1. International Recognition

IGCSE qualifications are recognized by universities, colleges, and employers worldwide, making it a valuable credential for students seeking further education or employment opportunities.

2. Wide Range of Subjects

IGCSE offers a wide range of subjects, including languages, sciences, humanities, and vocational courses. Students can choose subjects that align with their interests and career goals.

3. Assessment

: Assessment for IGCSE is typically based on a combination of written exams, practical exams, coursework, and oral assessments. This varied assessment approach aims to assess students' knowledge and skills effectively.

4. Flexibility

IGCSE allows flexibility in the choice of subjects, making it adaptable to different educational systems and student needs. It's often used in international schools but is also available in many other educational settings.

5. International Perspective

IGCSE encourages an international perspective, helping students develop a global outlook and cultural awareness.

6. Grading

IGCSE uses a grading system from A* (highest) to G (lowest), with a minimum passing grade typically set at C.


is often considered a stepping stone to further education, including the International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Programme or A-levels. It provides a strong foundation for students to pursue their academic and career aspirations.

IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education):

1. Age Group

IGCSE is typically taken by students at the end of their secondary education, usually around the age of 16.

2. Scope

It offers a wide range of subjects and is recognized internationally.

3. Grading

Students receive individual grades (A* to G) for each subject.

4. Equivalency

It is considered equivalent to the UK's General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE).

O Level

Ordinary Level
Learn More

A Level

Advanced Level
Learn More